Old Stone Presbyterian Church, Lewisburg West Virginia

img_6107

 

The Old Stone Presbyterian Church was built in 1796. It is the oldest church still in continuous use west of the Allegheny Mountains. It was erected under the direction of Col. John Stuart who also composed and carved the inscription stone above the main doorway. The church has rough limestone walls, stands two stories tall, and has two tiers of rectangular windows with shutters. The original square meetinghouse was expanded in 1830 which gave it the current rectangular shape. In 1834, an octagonal belfry with an ogee-domed roof was centered on the new hipped roof. The bell was cast in 1855 by Meneely Foundry of Troy, New York.  

IMG_6115

In 1909–1910, a brick Sunday school building with a Doric portico was built north of the church and hosted the denomination’s General Assembly in 1910. A few years after that, The Presbyterian Synod of West Virginia was formed there.

The church cemetery is the oldest in Lewisburg. There are many old stone markers that are said to have been carved east of the Alleghenies and brought in by oxcart. Henry Erskine’s marble tombstone stands six and one-half feet tall and is decorated with a carved Masonic insignia that was commissioned in 1848 by Erskine’s son-in-law.

13408934_1455843801

 

img_6110img_6113img_6116img_6117

 

It is thought to be West Virginia’s only remaining example of a design by Alexander Jackson Davis. Davis’s daybook contains sketches of the monument, along with records of its cost. It was fabricated and carved at the Tuckahoe Marble Quarry in Westchester County, New York.

By: Cindie Harper
 

Advertisements

Old English Church

ghostsofsheperdstowncindieharpertravelThe church on the Southeast corner of Church and High Streets in Sheperdstown, West Virginia. The “Old English Church” began as a log cabin in 1745. In 1769, the Mecklenburg Chapel replaced the original building.


 This basic structure still remains. It is among the earliest surviving church buildings west of the Blue Ridge Mountains. The town’s founder, Thomas Shepherd, willed the lot to the church parish in 1776. After the Revolution, the building was neglected. In 1815, the church was rebuilt. The first use of the name Trinity Church appears in the town records in 1836. There was a clock given to the church by Rezin D. Shepherd. It was located in the tower from 1841 to 1858.

Here is an old photo I found online:

oldenglishchurchnewspapersheperdstownwvfemmeforce

After the Civil War, the church became the first Freedman’s School and the African Methodist Episcopal Church. Today the property is privately owned but I am told that the original steeple blew off in a storm in the 1890s. This property is an interesting little location and a must see for tourist who love historical places.

ghostsofsheperdstownwvheadquartersfemmeforcecindie

 

ghosts-of-sheperdstown-cindie-harper-paranormal-travel

General Lewis Inn

The Historic General Lewis Inn was founded by the Hock family. The Hock & Morgan families operated the inn from 1929 until 2014 when it was purchased by Aaron and Sparrow Huffman.

generallewisinnwvrangerovercindieharper

The eastern end of the building, including the dining room, the kitchen and a suite of rooms on the first floor plus two bedrooms and a suite on the second floor, was a brick residence built in the early 1800’s by John H. Withrow.

generallewisinnwvhallwayantiquescindieharper

The main section and the west wing of the inn was built in 1928 by Walter Martens who also designed the Governor’s Mansion in Charleston. The Hock family spent many years gathering antiques from Greenbrier and adjoining counties to furnish the inn. The inn is filled with many antique pieces of furniture. Among some of the antique pieces, you will find canopy beds, chests of drawers, china, glass, old prints and other memorabilia are throughout the building.

generallewisinnbedroomhotelantiquescindieharper

All of the guest rooms are furnished with antiques.

The hand-hewn beam in the dining room was added when the wall separating two front rooms was removed to create a larger dining room.

generallewisinndiningroomjeffersoncindieharper

This beam, as well as the ones in the lounge and lobby, were reclaimed from old quarters behind the residence.

generallewisinndiningroomchandeliercindieharper

The handsome door of the original home was moved to the present main entrance and the mantle from the original dining room was moved to the lounge.

generallewisinnjeffersondiningroomcindieharper

Photos by: Cindie Harper